Travel – Korea (Summer) 2

kor002


And well, now that I`m married to a Korean, I do fly more often to this country than expected. [other posts here, here and here] This time we went due to 2 weddings of a university friend of my husband as well as a relative of ours. I got a bitter-sweet taste of what those “weddings” actually mean and how they are culturally implemented in everybody’s hearts.

Honestly it would be a less positive post if I kept rumbling on how heartless and cold those assembly-line wedding “procedures are (people didn’t even shut up while ceremony already started) Where the only purpose is to “get your money back from all those married ones” (as you too, invested in their weddings as a guest)  This being actually the main point – and a reason why we have our “ceremony” 1.5 years AFTER our actual wedding. [Anyway, I hope it’s over soon and we somehow manage to keep debt as low as possible.]


Fun part: Korea – yeay – I love summer in Korea…..well, I did. Last year. But this year was hell. Air pollution was on its peak during our 2 weeks stay, and (being allergic to dust) I went all the way: sore throat, pimples, itchiness, swollen eyes, cough, runny nose, asthma……Korea would be a great country regarding nature. But pollution (which is not Chinas fault alone) reminds me what a gem other countries are (Canada, Germany etc. )

» As for the wedding, there is this “being forced to treat friends for cafe/dinner to hand them invitation over”- kinda thing…….so we ended up having dinner or lunch with a lot of people. The best (only?) day I really enjoyed was date-day on a pollution-free (thanks wind!) day. Going to the recently inaugurated Seoul towerA beautiful lake, some cold drink, my husband, and fresh air to breath. These are the things that make me happy, and I`m glad my husbands opinion coincides.


Some other day we went all the way down to Busan again, for his cousins wedding. Family chaos all over again (I even don’t have names for those 5th line-cousin on mothers side (guess in Korea it’s a “Family tree”  “Family Tumor” ….add korean names and you know the mess I felt I was in.)  In Busan we successfully escaped family and checked in in my fav. Yellow Hostel at Yongdo Beach (see this post) and had a nice walk at the beach; and the next day a rainy train-ride home.

This time was more a “real lifeexperience. And yes, it’s not all happy-go-lucky lovey-dovey family. It’s “real” it’s “life”. But one should not forget you marry only one person (not the whole family)  → I’m glad I made this choice, I love my husband. That’s enough.

Leave a Reply

